Thursday, March 24, 2005

More than 500 Historians Protest to C-SPAN

The Wyman Institute for Holocaust Studies has issued a follow-up to their March 17 petition.

More Than 500 Historians Protest C-Span Broadcast of Holocaust- Denier

More than 500 prominent historians and other scholars have now signed the petition protesting C-SPAN's plan to broadcast a lecture by Holocaust-denier David Irving on its program "Book TV."

The latest signatories include such prominent scholars as New Republic editor-in-chief Dr. Martin Peretz, Harvard Law School Prof. Alan Dershowitz, and Dr. Michael Walzer; Eric Foner, Simon Schama, and Istvan Deak, of Columbia; David Brion Davis, Harold Bloom, and Paul Kennedy of Yale; and Charles Maier and Richard Pipes of Harvard;

-- Pulitzer prize winners David Levering Lewis, Jack Rakove, and Lloyd Schwartz;

-- Media notables Marvin Kalb and Ben Stein;

-- Holocaust scholars Randolph Braham, Daniel Goldhagen, and Omer Bartov;

-- Leading Jewish historians Jonathan Sarna, Yosef Yerushalmi, Robert Chazan, and Deborah Dash Moore well as historians from England, France, Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Israel, and Japan.

Another 330 scholars signed the petition this week, following on the heels of 203 historians who signed it last week. The petition was organized by the David S. Wyman Institute for Holocaust Studies, which publishes the only annual report on Holocaust-denial around the world.


The signatories on the first installment of the Wyman Institute petition, which was sent to C-SPAN on March 17, included some of the most noted historians of the Holocaust, such as Christopher Browning, Richard Breitman, Deborah Dwork, Ronald Zweig, and David S. Wyman. (For a list of those initial 203 signatories, please go to

The text of the letter and the complete list of 330 signatories on the second petition follow


No comments: